ReWind: Seeking a way forward…

(Written during the 2012 Democratic National Convention in Charlotte, NC)

I don’t know how others feel but i feel that these are truly amazing days in which I’m living in. Today marks the first day of my delegate duties at the Democratic Nation convention. I’m the first in my generation to attend a US convention from a family that is steeped in the political process in Trinidad and Tobago. Members of my family have served their citizens of the island nation first and then the last few Prime Ministers. I emphasize on the citizens first, because that is what has drawn me to President Obama’s vision for the country. Its relative to me personally; before my race, before my age, before my faith, before my political affiliation, his vision relates to the core of who I am as a human being.

Walking around the convention today and speaking with Muslims, Native Americans, Asians, Caucasians, etc. I couldn’t help but to bathe in the fact that there are others who share my sentiments. There are tens of thousands that can connect to the Presidents vision that are here in Charlotte and tens of millions more that are not here. In no way has the inherited state of our union been easy for the 100%. Those who were well off lost something. Those with nothing found out that they did have something to lose, and lost it. Those in the middle lost period.

Since taking office, our President has taken on every challenge that has faced his administration and brought sweeping and positive change to the 100%. Not just the 1%, not just the 99% not just the middle class or the working poor, and not just those below the poverty level. Change came to the whole 100%. Healthcare reform, fair wages, education reform, auto industry revitalization, financial industry regulation. None of these were done in the best interest of any one group, they were done in the best interest of the United States of America. But we live in an economically and racially divided United States. Not everyone has taken the view that the needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few. Particularly the 1% few. I ran as a delegate because I believe in the 100% and I want the best for the 100% just as our President does.

Your thoughts on this?

