My Rant| Loving Your Natural Hair & debunking negative images

Inspiring, Motivating & Encouraging Mom's in their daily life

Just the other day my white neighbor said to me as I was walking my daughter “Did you do something different to your hair, it looks great, it’s long!”

image

Well that something different was that I had just blown it out and flat ironed my hair. Of course I wasn’t surprised by her comment because most of my white friends are clueless as it relates to black hair. On the other hand, I usually like to utilize these moments as “teachable” moments. But instead, I found myself getting a little bit angry partly because I thought about how this same thing will impact my now natural head 14 month old.

image

Needless to say, I took the time to educate my fellow sister about all that hair I have lurking behind my coils and how it’s just as beautiful straighten or kinky. Her response was simply, “I had no idea your…

View original post 115 more words

Your thoughts on this?

